Swiss Climate Challenge Terms and Conditions of Use

1. Scope of application

These “Swiss Climate Challenge Terms and Conditions of Use” (hereinafter referred to as the “Terms and Conditions of Use”) issued by Swisscom (Switzerland) Ltd (hereinafter referred to as “Swisscom”) apply to the “Swiss Climate Challenge” service offered by Swisscom and its project partners PostFinance AG, the Migros Pioneer Fund and Energie Schweiz. By using the app belonging to the Swiss Climate Challenge (hereinafter “App”), the customer agrees to the Terms and Conditions of Use. The App is based on a corresponding application by the company MOTIONTAG GmbH, which collects movement data based on the GPS data received via the user’s mobile phone.

The Swiss Climate Challenge is an initiative by Swisscom, the Migros Pioneer Fund and Energie Schweiz in cooperation with PostFinance AG to raise awareness and motivate the population to adopt more climate-friendly behaviour. This is against the backdrop of the global challenge of roughly halving CO2 emissions by 2030 and becoming largely climate neutral by 2050. The associated App is distributed in two ways:

- As part of other “carrier apps”, i.e. widely used apps such as those offered by media partner Ringier and by Swisscom (Blue News) and Pro Velo (Cyclomania).
- As a standalone app in the App Store or on Google Play.

The Swiss Climate Challenge will later be available to companies, cities, events or other organisations to motivate their customers, employees, residents or participants to adopt climate-friendly behaviour.

2. Services of the Swiss Climate Challenge

The App automatically tracks the mobility of users in terms of their choice of transport, the distances travelled and the associated CO2 emissions. The tracking technology provided by the company MOTIONTAG GmbH is used.

With the help of the App, the user learns about the impact of their behaviour on the climate in a playful way, can compare themselves with others, improve and receive rewards (see section 5) for completing defined challenges. The Swiss Climate Challenge accompanies the App with communications and provides incentives for improving your personal climate footprint. The calculation of CO2 emissions and energy consumption is based on the factors recognised by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy at www.mobitool.ch.

The App is available to everyone and is not limited to Swisscom customers.

3. Customer obligations

3.1 Requirements and registration

A smartphone or tablet is required to use the App. You will also need to download the independent App or a carrier app such as the Ringier Blick app, start the App, register and log in. In order to take full advantage of the App, it is necessary to activate location and fitness data tracking in your smartphone settings.

The App is available for both iOS and Android devices.

After installing the App, the participant will be asked to register to use the App.

Registration creates a contractual relationship between the participant and Swisscom, to which these Terms and Conditions of Use apply.

Registration is completed via the registration page in the App. To do this, you will need to log in with your own mobile phone number.

The registration process is as follows:

-After opening the app for the first time, the user will be asked to agree to the privacy policy and the current terms and conditions of use for the Swiss Climate Challenge. After they have agreed, the user is registered as an anonymous user. This gives them access to core features such as feedback on CO2 emissions and allows them to participate in public lifestyle challenges. To be able to use further features, the user can expand their account as follows:

- Register with a mobile phone number to use all the features of the Swiss Climate Challenge including comparisons with your contacts.

- Register with an email address to participate in private company challenges.

- By registering, the user consents to the processing of the personal data required for the use of the app in the context of the Swiss Climate Challenge and agrees to the validity of these terms and conditions of use. Swisscom reserves the right to refuse registration at any time without providing a reason, or to subsequently terminate the participation relationship at any time.

- In case of multiple registrations by one person, only the most recently registered account will be maintained.

3.2 Requirements of a carrier app

By obtaining access to the Swiss Climate Challenge App via a carrier app through the App Store, Google Play or an app from another online provider, the user agrees to all additional legal terms relating to the acquisition of an application from the respective provider (e.g. App Store, Google Play).

When it comes to the use of the downloaded carrier app, a contractual relationship is only established between the user and Swisscom. Despite the lack of a contractual agreement between the user and the online provider in relation to the downloaded App, the user grants the relevant app store (App Store, Google Play) the right to legally enforce the provisions of these Terms and Conditions of Use if necessary.

3.3 Legally and contractually compliant use

The user receives a time-limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable right to use the App; they do not have the right to make technical changes to it and to further use the corresponding results.

By registering, the user guarantees that the mobile phone registered in their name is used exclusively by them and that the recorded movements correspond to their natural movement behaviour. Passing on the mobile phone to third parties is not permitted.

The user bears liability for breaches of contract by the user and any resulting claims by third parties. If a suit is filed against Swisscom or the online app store, the user indemnifies the online app store and Swisscom against any claims from third parties.

When using the App, the User shall comply with the provisions of these Terms and Conditions of Use and applicable law. Any use contrary to these provisions or to the applicable law is prohibited. In particular, it is in breach of contract to:

a. Provide incomplete or untrue information;

b. Change and falsify information and transaction data contrary to the truth;

c. Open an account in the name of a third party;

d. Enter information or data belonging to other persons;

e. Transfer an account to a third party;

f. Alter, tamper with, circumvent, overload, attack, introduce viruses or malware to, or otherwise interfere with the website or the App and their underlying software and security measures without authorisation;

g. Use the App to spy on other people;

h. Install and use the App without consent on a mobile phone that is being used for its intended purpose by another person.

Swisscom has the right, at its own discretion, to temporarily or permanently suspend or delete access to accounts if it has reason to believe that an account is being used in a prohibited manner. Before an account is permanently suspended or deleted, the user will be contacted by SMS or email and given a reasonable opportunity to respond. If the account is permanently blocked or deleted due to prohibited use, the user will not be able to register again.

4. Charges

The use of the Swiss Climate Challenge App is free of charge.

Accessing the application may incur data transmission charges. Whether and to what extent such charges are incurred will depend on the underlying connection used for data transmission.

Roaming costs are common when using the service abroad.

5. Rewards

The Swiss Climate Challenge sets tasks (called “challenges” in the App) as an incentive for climate-friendly behaviour, in which “green points” or “green coins” can be won by achieving certain targets relating to CO2 emissions and mobility behaviour.

Green points show how many tasks a user has already successfully completed as part of the Swiss Climate Challenge. They serve solely as an incentive to compare oneself with other users and have no personal material value for the user.

Green coins can be distributed to users if a sponsor (e.g. a company, a municipality, a city, etc.) sponsors an amount of money for a group of people (e.g. employees of a company or residents of a city or municipality). This sum can be distributed among the members of the defined group by fulfilling defined tasks (“challenges”, see above).

The green coins are issued by PostFinance AG. They are worth one Swiss franc per green coin and can only be spent on the Swiss Climate Challenge marketplace (called “Rewards” on the App) in exchange for sustainable products, services or donations. The equivalent value of the green coins in Swiss francs is deposited 1:1 with the issuer in an account.

Green coins aim to reward large groups of people for environmentally friendly behaviour. However, the following restrictions apply when dealing with green coins:

· Users have no right to exchange green coins for CHF.

· Swisscom accepts no liability for lost green coins or if someone loses access to the App, e.g. due to a smartphone no longer working or a change of telephone number.

· Green coins may only be earned and used by employees of companies, municipalities, cities or other public organisations that finance a corresponding challenge.

· Green coins cannot be directly purchased by users. Green coins cannot be transferred peer to peer.

· After the expiration of a challenge funded by a sponsor, the user has one month to exchange the green coins for rewards. The remaining balance will then be deleted.

· A green coin credit balance does not give rise to any claim on the part of the user. The issuer of the green coins has the option, in consultation with the sponsors, to reset the coin balance to zero at any time during a challenge

6. Data protection

By using the App, the user agrees to the collection of their user data. Detailed data processing within the scope of tracking and the corresponding data protection regulations are set out in the document “Data privacy policy for the use of the Swiss Climate Challenge App”.

Swisscom works with ETH Zurich and EPFL (Lausanne) to evaluate mobility behaviour. All evaluations are used exclusively for the purpose of promoting climate-friendly behaviour. Only completely anonymised and aggregated data (aggregated data of at least 20 persons) is processed, so that tracking of individual persons is excluded at all times. Swisscom ensures that the universities and companies it commissions are committed to the same standard of data protection and data security as Swisscom itself.

If the user exchanges collected green coins for a reward, their email address will be passed on to the corresponding provider of the reward in order to process the transaction.

7. Liability

Use of the App is at your own risk. In particular, Swisscom as the provider of the Swiss Climate Challenge is not liable for interruptions to the services offered, for any loss of data or for consequences arising from transparency or comparison of the climate footprint resulting from the user’s own behaviour, such as a guilty conscience, concern or differences between the user and other people. The goal of the App is to constructively motivate more climate-friendly behaviour.

8. Changes to and suspension of the App

Swisscom may change or suspend the App at any time without prior notice. It may also change these Terms and Conditions of Use at any time. The changes will be displayed in an appropriate manner and the user is free to delete the App immediately and free of charge at any time.

9. Place of jurisdiction, applicable law

All questions and disputes relating to the App are subject exclusively to Swiss law. The exclusive place of jurisdiction is Berne; compulsory places of jurisdiction are reserved.

The App is subject to the export control regulations and other laws of the USA and may not be exported, re-exported or transferred to certain countries (currently Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Crimea and Syria), persons or legal subjects who are prohibited from receiving exported goods from the USA (including (a) those on the Denied Persons List and the Entity List of the Bureau of Industry and Security and (b) those on the Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List of the Office of Foreign Assets Control).

May 2021

Nutzungsbedingungen Swiss Climate Challenge

1. Anwendungsbereich

Diese "Nutzungsbedingungen Swiss Climate Challenge" (nachstehend "Nutzungsbedingungen") der Swisscom (Schweiz) AG (nachfolgend “Swisscom”) finden auf die Dienstleistung "Swiss Climate Challenge" Anwendung, welche von Swisscom mit den Projektpartnern PostFinance AG, Pionierfonds Migros und Energie Schweiz angeboten wird. Mit Nutzung der "App" der Swiss Climate Challenge (nachstehend "App") erklärt sich der Kunde mit den Nutzungsbedingungen einverstanden. Die App basiert auf einer entsprechenden Applikation der Firma MOTIONTAG GmbH, welche Bewegungsdaten anhand der empfangenen GPS-Daten im Mobiltelefon des Benutzers erhebt.

Die Swiss Climate Challenge ist eine Initiative von Swisscom, Pionierfonds Migros und Energie Schweiz in Kooperation mit der PostFinance AG zur Sensibilisierung und Motivation der Bevölkerung für ein klimafreundlicheres Verhalten. Dies vor dem Hintergrund der globalen Herausforderung, die CO2-Emissionen bis 2030 grob zu halbieren und bis 2050 weitgehend klimaneutral zu leben. Die zugehörige App wird auf zwei Arten verbreitet:

- als Teil von anderen sogenannten "Träger-Apps", das heisst weit verbreiteten Apps wie zum Beispiel von Medienpartner Ringier sowie von Swisscom (Blue News) und Pro Velo (Cyclomania).
- als selbstständige App im App-Store oder bei Google Play.

Die Swiss Climate Challenge soll später Firmen, Städten, Events oder anderen Organisationen zur Verfügung stehen, um ihre Kunden, Mitarbeiter, Einwohner oder Teilnehmer zu motivieren für ein klimafreundliches Verhalten.

2. Leistungen der Swiss Climate Challenge

Die App trackt automatisch die Mobilität der Nutzer bezüglich Wahl der Verkehrsmittel, der zurückgelegten Distanzen und den damit verbundenen CO2-Emissionen. Dabei wird die Tracking-Technologie der Firma MOTIONTAG GmbH eingesetzt.

Mit Hilfe der App lernt der Benutzer spielerisch die Belastung des Klimas durch sein Verhalten genauer kennen, kann sich mit anderen vergleichen, verbessern und erhält Belohnungen (siehe Kapitel 5) für die Absolvierung von definierten Challenges. Die Swiss Climate Challenge begleitet die App kommunikativ und setzt Anreize für eine Verbesserung des persönlichen Klimafussabdruckes. Die Berechnung der CO2-Emissionen und des Energieverbrauchs beruhen auf den vom Bundesamt für Energie anerkannten Faktoren von www.mobitool.ch.

Die App steht allen Menschen zur Verfügung und ist nicht beschränkt auf Swisscom-Kunden.

3. Leistungen des Kunden

3.1 Voraussetzungen und Registrierung

Voraussetzung für die Nutzung der App ist ein Smartphone oder ein Tablet. Weiter muss der Download der selbständigen App oder einer Träger-App wie z.B. der Blick-App von Ringier, der Start der App, die Registration und das Login erfolgen. Um den vollen Mehrwert der App zu nutzen, braucht es eine Aktivierung des Trackings der Positions- sowie der Fitnessdaten in den Einstellungen des Smartphones.

Die App steht sowohl für iOS wie auch für Android-Geräte zur Verfügung.

Nach Installation der App wird der Teilnehmer aufgefordert sich für die Nutzung der App zu registrieren.

Mit der Registrierung entsteht ein Vertragsverhältnis zwischen dem Teilnehmer und Swisscom, für das diese Nutzungsbedingungen gelten.

Die Registrierung erfolgt über die in der App auszufüllende Registrierungsseite, dabei muss man sich mit der eigenen Mobiltelefonnummer anmelden.

Der Registrierungsprozess erfolgt im Einzelnen wie folgt:

- Nach dem ersten Öffnen der App wird der Benutzer aufgefordert, den vorliegenden Nutzungsbedingungen zur Swiss Climate Challenge und der Datenschutzerklärung zuzustimmen. Nach erfolgter Zustimmung ist der Benutzer als anonymer Nutzer registriert. Damit hat er Zugriff auf Kernfunktionen wie z.B. Feedback zum CO2-Ausstoss und kann an öffentlichen Verhaltenschallenges teilnehmen. Um weitere Funktionen nutzen zu können kann der Benutzer sein Konto wie folgt ergänzen:

- Registrierung mit Mobilfunknummer, um die vollen Funktionen der Swiss Climate Challenge inklusive Vergleiche mit seinen Kontakten nutzen zu können.

- Registrierung mit einer E-Mailadresse, um an privaten Firmenchallenges teilnehmen zu können.

- Mit der Registrierung erklärt der Benutzer sein Einverständnis mit der Verarbeitung seiner personenbezogenen Daten, die mit einer Nutzung der App im Rahmen der Swiss Climate Challenge benötigt werden, und er stimmt der Geltung dieser Nutzungsbedingungen zu. Swisscom behält sich jederzeit das Recht vor, eine Registrierung ohne Angabe von Gründen abzulehnen oder auch nachträglich das Teilnahmeverhältnis jederzeit zu beenden.

- Bei Mehrfachanmeldungen auf eine Person wird nur der zuletzt angemeldete Account aufrechterhalten.

3.2 Erfordernis einer Träger-App

Bezieht der Benutzer eine Träger-App der App für die Swiss Climate Challenge im App Store, auf Google Play oder bei einem anderen Online-Anbieter als Applikation, bestätigt er mit dem Bezug, dass er zusätzlich sämtliche rechtlichen Bestimmungen betreffend den Erwerb einer Applikation des betreffenden Anbieters (z.B. App Store, Google Play) akzeptiert.

Betreffend die Nutzung der herunter geladenen Träger-App kommt nur ein Vertragsverhältnis zwischen dem Benutzer und Swisscom zustande. Der Benutzer räumt hiermit dem betreffenden App-Store (App Store, Google Play) trotz fehlender vertraglicher Vereinbarung zwischen ihm und dem Online-Anbieter in Bezug auf die bezogene App das Recht ein, die Bestimmungen in diesen Nutzungsbedingungen notfalls gerichtlich durchzusetzen.

3.3 Rechts- und vertragskonforme Nutzung

Der Benutzer erhält ein zeitlich beschränktes, nicht exklusives, unübertragbares Recht zur Nutzung dieser App; er besitzt kein Recht, technische Veränderungen daran vorzunehmen und entsprechende Resultate weiterzuverwenden.

Der Benutzer sichert mit der Registrierung zu, dass er das auf ihn registrierte Mobiltelefon auch ausschliesslich selbst nutzt und die aufgezeichneten Bewegungen seinem natürlichen Bewegungsverhalten entsprechen. Eine Weitergabe des Mobiltelefons an Dritte ist nicht zulässig.

Für Vertragsverletzungen durch den Benutzer und entsprechende Ansprüche seitens Dritter steht der Benutzer ein. Wird Swisscom oder der Online App-Store eingeklagt, so stellt der Benutzer den Online App-Store sowie Swisscom von jeglichen Ansprüchen Dritter frei.

Bei der Nutzung der App hat sich der Benutzer an die Bestimmungen dieser Nutzungsbedingungen und an geltendes Recht zu halten. Jede dieser Bestimmungen oder dem geltenden Recht widersprechende Nutzung ist verboten. Es ist insbesondere vertragswidrig:

a. unvollständige oder unwahre Angaben zu machen;

b. Angaben und Bewegungsdaten der Wahrheit zuwider zu verändern und zu verfälschen;

c. einen Account im Namen eines Dritten zu eröffnen;

d. Angaben oder Daten von anderen Personen einzugeben;

e. einen Account auf Dritte zu übertragen;

f. Die Website oder die App und die diesen zugrunde liegende Software und Sicherheitsvorkehrungen zu verändern, zu manipulieren, zu umgehen, zu überlasten, anzugreifen, mit Viren oder Schadprogrammen anzugreifen oder auf andere Weise unbefugt darin einzugreifen;

g. Die App zu benutzen, um andere Personen auszuspionieren;

h. die App ohne deren Zustimmung auf einem Mobiltelefon zu installieren und zu benutzen, welches bestimmungsgemäss von einer anderen Person genutzt wird.

Swisscom hat das Recht, den Zugang zu den Accounts nach eigenem Ermessen vorübergehend oder dauerhaft zu sperren oder zu löschen, wenn Gründe zu der Annahme führen, dass ein Account auf verbotene Weise benutzt wird. Bevor ein Account dauerhaft gesperrt oder gelöscht wird, wird der Benutzer per SMS oder E-Mail kontaktiert und angemessene Gelegenheit zur Stellungnahme gegeben. Sollte der Account aufgrund einer verbotenen Benutzung dauerhaft gesperrt oder gelöscht werden, ist eine erneute Registrierung für den Benutzer ausgeschlossen.

4. Kosten

Die Nutzung der Swiss Climate Challenge App ist kostenlos.

Beim Zugriff auf die Anwendung können Kosten für die Datenübertragung anfallen. Ob und in welchem Umfang derartige Kosten anfallen, richtet sich nach dem zugrundeliegenden Anschluss, welcher die Datenübertragung ermöglicht.

Bei der Nutzung im Ausland ist mit Roaming-Kosten zu rechnen.

5. Belohnungen

Die Swiss Climate Challenge stellt zum Zweck des Anreizes für ein klimafreundliches Verhalten Aufgaben (in der App "Challenges" genannt), bei denen durch Erreichung bestimmter Ziele bezüglich CO2-Ausstoss und Mobilitätsverhalten sogenannte Green Points oder Green Coins gewonnen werden können.

Green Points zeigen auf, wie viele Aufgaben ein Nutzer auf der Swiss Climate Challenge schon erfolgreich absolvieren konnte. Sie dienen einzig und allein dem Anreiz, sich mit anderen Nutzern zu vergleichen und haben für den Nutzer keinen persönlichen materiellen Wert.

Green Coins können an die Nutzer verteilt werden, wenn ein Sponsor (z.B. eine Firma, eine Gemeinde, eine Stadt, etc.) für eine Gruppe von Menschen (z.B. Mitarbeitende einer Firma oder Einwohner*innen einer Stadt oder Gemeinde) einen Geldbetrag sponsert. Dieser Geldbetrag kann durch Erfüllung von definierten Aufgaben ("Challenges", siehe oben) unter den Angehörigen der definierten Gruppe von Menschen verteilt werden.

Die Green Coins werden von der PostFinance AG herausgegeben, sie haben einen Wert von einem Schweizer Franken pro Green Coin und können ausschliesslich auf dem Marktplatz (auf der App "Belohnungen" genannt) der Swiss Climate Challenge für nachhaltige Produkte, Dienstleistungen oder Spenden ausgegeben werden. Der Gegenwert der Green Coins in Schweizer Franken wird 1:1 beim Herausgeber auf einem Konto hinterlegt.

Die Green Coins haben das Ziel, grosse Gruppen von Menschen für ein klimafreundliches Verhalten zu belohnen. Es gelten aber im Umgang mit den Green Coins folgende Einschränkungen:

· Die Nutzer haben kein Anrecht auf Umtausch der Green Coins in CHF.

· Swisscom übernimmt keine Haftung für verlorene Green Coins oder wenn jemand den Zugang zur App verliert, z.B. durch ein nicht mehr funktionierendes Smartphone oder den Wechsel der Telefonnummer.

· Green Coins gewinnen und einsetzen dürfen nur die Mitarbeiter von Firmen, Gemeinden, Städten oder sonstigen öffentlich-rechtlichen Organisationen, die eine entsprechende Challenge finanzieren.

· Ein direkter Bezug von Green Coins durch die Benutzer ist nicht möglich. Es ist kein Peer-2-Peer Transfer von Green Coins unter Nutzern möglich.

· Nach dem Ablauf einer von einem Sponsor finanzierten Challenge hat der Benutzer einen Monat Zeit zum Eintauschen der Green Coins in Belohnungen. Anschliessend wird das Restguthaben gelöscht.

· Ein Guthaben an Green Coins verursacht keinen Anspruch beim Nutzer. Die Herausgeberin der Green Coins hat in Absprache mit den Sponsoren jederzeit die Möglichkeit, auch während einer Challenge das Coin Guthaben auf Null zurückzusetzen

6. Datenschutz

Durch die Nutzung der App erklärt sich der Benutzer mit der Erfassung seiner Nutzungsdaten einverstanden. Die detaillierten Datenverarbeitungen im Rahmen des Trackings und die entsprechenden datenschutzrechtlichen Bestimmungen sind im Dokument "Datenschutzerklärung für die Nutzung der App der Swiss Climate Challenge" geregelt.

Swisscom arbeitet für die Auswertung des Mobilitätsverhaltens mit der ETH Zürich und der EPF Lausanne zusammen. Alle Auswertungen werden nur für den Zweck eines klimafreundlicheren Verhaltens genutzt. Dabei werden nur vollständig anonymisierte und aggregierte (aggregierte Daten von mindestens 20 Personen) Daten verarbeitet, so dass ein Tracking von einzelnen Personen jederzeit ausgeschlossen ist. Swisscom stellt sicher, dass die von ihr beauftragten Hochschulen und Firmen dem Datenschutz und der Datensicherheit in gleicher Weise verpflichtet sind wie Swisscom selbst.

Tauscht der Benutzer gesammelte Green Coins in eine Belohnung ein, wird seine E-Mail Adresse dem entsprechenden Anbieter der Belohnung zur Abwicklung der Transaktion weitergegeben.

7. Haftung

Die Nutzung der App erfolgt auf eigenes Risiko. Swisscom als Anbieter der Swiss Climate Challenge haftet insbesondere nicht für Unterbrüche der angebotenen Dienstleistungen, für allfällige Datenverluste oder für Konsequenzen, die aus der Transparenz oder dem Vergleich des Klimafussabdruckes des eigenen Verhaltens entstehen wie z.B. schlechtes Gewissen, Betroffenheit oder Differenzen mit anderen Personen. Das Ziel der App ist konstruktiv für ein klimafreundlicheres Verhalten zu motivieren.

8. Änderungen und Einstellung der App

Swisscom kann die vorliegende App jederzeit ohne besondere Vorankündigung ändern oder einstellen. Ebenso kann sie die vorliegenden Nutzungsbestimmungen jederzeit ändern. Die Änderungen werden in geeigneter Weise angezeigt und es steht dem Benutzer jederzeit frei, die App umgehend und kostenlos zu löschen.

9. Gerichtsstand, anwendbares Recht

Für sämtliche Fragen und Auseinandersetzungen im Zusammenhang mit der App gilt ausschliesslich schweizerisches Recht. Ausschliesslicher Gerichtsstand ist Bern; zwingende Gerichtsstände sind vorbehalten.

Die App unterliegt den Exportkontrollvorschriften und anderen Gesetzen der USA und darf nicht in gewisse Länder (derzeit Kuba, Iran, Nordkorea, Sudan, Krim Region der Ukraine und Syrien) oder an Personen oder Rechtssubjekte, denen der Erhalt von Exportwaren aus den USA untersagt ist (einschliesslich derer, die (a) auf den Sanktionslisten für Personen bzw. Rechtsubjekte [Denied Persons List bzw. Entity List] des Bureau of Industry and Security und (b) der Liste der Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons des Office of Foreign Assets Control aufgeführt sind), exportiert, reexportiert oder transferiert werden.

Mai 2021