Swiss Climate Challenge Terms and Conditions of Use

1. Scope of application

These “Swiss Climate Challenge Terms and Conditions of Use” (hereinafter referred to as the “Terms and Conditions of Use”) issued by Swisscom (Switzerland) Ltd (hereinafter referred to as “Swisscom”) apply to the “Swiss Climate Challenge” service offered by Swisscom and its project partners PostFinance AG, the Migros Pioneer Fund and Energie Schweiz. By using the app belonging to the Swiss Climate Challenge (hereinafter “App”), the customer agrees to the Terms and Conditions of Use. The App is based on a corresponding application by the company MOTIONTAG GmbH, which collects movement data based on the GPS data received via the user’s mobile phone.

The Swiss Climate Challenge is an initiative by Swisscom, the Migros Pioneer Fund and Energie Schweiz in cooperation with PostFinance AG to raise awareness and motivate the population to adopt more climate-friendly behaviour. This is against the backdrop of the global challenge of roughly halving CO2 emissions by 2030 and becoming largely climate neutral by 2050. The associated App is distributed in two ways:

- As part of other “carrier apps”, i.e. widely used apps such as those offered by media partner Ringier and by Swisscom (Blue News) and Pro Velo (Cyclomania).
- As a standalone app in the App Store or on Google Play.

The Swiss Climate Challenge will later be available to companies, cities, events or other organisations to motivate their customers, employees, residents or participants to adopt climate-friendly behaviour.

2. Services of the Swiss Climate Challenge

The App automatically tracks the mobility of users in terms of their choice of transport, the distances travelled and the associated CO2 emissions. The tracking technology provided by the company MOTIONTAG GmbH is used.

With the help of the App, the user learns about the impact of their behaviour on the climate in a playful way, can compare themselves with others, improve and receive rewards (see section 5) for completing defined challenges. The Swiss Climate Challenge accompanies the App with communications and provides incentives for improving your personal climate footprint. The calculation of CO2 emissions and energy consumption is based on the factors recognised by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy at www.mobitool.ch.

The App is available to everyone and is not limited to Swisscom customers.

3. Customer obligations

3.1 Requirements and registration

A smartphone or tablet is required to use the App. You will also need to download the independent App or a carrier app such as the Ringier Blick app, start the App, register and log in. In order to take full advantage of the App, it is necessary to activate location and fitness data tracking in your smartphone settings.

The App is available for both iOS and Android devices.

After installing the App, the participant will be asked to register to use the App.

Registration creates a contractual relationship between the participant and Swisscom, to which these Terms and Conditions of Use apply.

Registration is completed via the registration page in the App. To do this, you will need to log in with your own mobile phone number.

The registration process is as follows:

-After opening the app for the first time, the user will be asked to agree to the privacy policy and the current terms and conditions of use for the Swiss Climate Challenge. After they have agreed, the user is registered as an anonymous user. This gives them access to core features such as feedback on CO2 emissions and allows them to participate in public lifestyle challenges. To be able to use further features, the user can expand their account as follows:

- Register with a mobile phone number to use all the features of the Swiss Climate Challenge including comparisons with your contacts.

- Register with an email address to participate in private company challenges.

- By registering, the user consents to the processing of the personal data required for the use of the app in the context of the Swiss Climate Challenge and agrees to the validity of these terms and conditions of use. Swisscom reserves the right to refuse registration at any time without providing a reason, or to subsequently terminate the participation relationship at any time.

- In case of multiple registrations by one person, only the most recently registered account will be maintained.

3.2 Requirements of a carrier app

By obtaining access to the Swiss Climate Challenge App via a carrier app through the App Store, Google Play or an app from another online provider, the user agrees to all additional legal terms relating to the acquisition of an application from the respective provider (e.g. App Store, Google Play).

When it comes to the use of the downloaded carrier app, a contractual relationship is only established between the user and Swisscom. Despite the lack of a contractual agreement between the user and the online provider in relation to the downloaded App, the user grants the relevant app store (App Store, Google Play) the right to legally enforce the provisions of these Terms and Conditions of Use if necessary.

3.3 Legally and contractually compliant use

The user receives a time-limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable right to use the App; they do not have the right to make technical changes to it and to further use the corresponding results.

By registering, the user guarantees that the mobile phone registered in their name is used exclusively by them and that the recorded movements correspond to their natural movement behaviour. Passing on the mobile phone to third parties is not permitted.

The user bears liability for breaches of contract by the user and any resulting claims by third parties. If a suit is filed against Swisscom or the online app store, the user indemnifies the online app store and Swisscom against any claims from third parties.

When using the App, the User shall comply with the provisions of these Terms and Conditions of Use and applicable law. Any use contrary to these provisions or to the applicable law is prohibited. In particular, it is in breach of contract to:

a. Provide incomplete or untrue information;

b. Change and falsify information and transaction data contrary to the truth;

c. Open an account in the name of a third party;

d. Enter information or data belonging to other persons;

e. Transfer an account to a third party;

f. Alter, tamper with, circumvent, overload, attack, introduce viruses or malware to, or otherwise interfere with the website or the App and their underlying software and security measures without authorisation;

g. Use the App to spy on other people;

h. Install and use the App without consent on a mobile phone that is being used for its intended purpose by another person.

Swisscom has the right, at its own discretion, to temporarily or permanently suspend or delete access to accounts if it has reason to believe that an account is being used in a prohibited manner. Before an account is permanently suspended or deleted, the user will be contacted by SMS or email and given a reasonable opportunity to respond. If the account is permanently blocked or deleted due to prohibited use, the user will not be able to register again.

4. Charges

The use of the Swiss Climate Challenge App is free of charge.

Accessing the application may incur data transmission charges. Whether and to what extent such charges are incurred will depend on the underlying connection used for data transmission.

Roaming costs are common when using the service abroad.

5. Rewards

The Swiss Climate Challenge sets tasks (called “challenges” in the App) as an incentive for climate-friendly behaviour, in which “green points” or “green coins” can be won by achieving certain targets relating to CO2 emissions and mobility behaviour.

Green points show how many tasks a user has already successfully completed as part of the Swiss Climate Challenge. They serve solely as an incentive to compare oneself with other users and have no personal material value for the user.

Green coins can be distributed to users if a sponsor (e.g. a company, a municipality, a city, etc.) sponsors an amount of money for a group of people (e.g. employees of a company or residents of a city or municipality). This sum can be distributed among the members of the defined group by fulfilling defined tasks (“challenges”, see above).

The green coins are issued by PostFinance AG. They are worth one Swiss franc per green coin and can only be spent on the Swiss Climate Challenge marketplace (called “Rewards” on the App) in exchange for sustainable products, services or donations. The equivalent value of the green coins in Swiss francs is deposited 1:1 with the issuer in an account.

Green coins aim to reward large groups of people for environmentally friendly behaviour. However, the following restrictions apply when dealing with green coins:

· Users have no right to exchange green coins for CHF.

· Swisscom accepts no liability for lost green coins or if someone loses access to the App, e.g. due to a smartphone no longer working or a change of telephone number.

· Green coins may only be earned and used by employees of companies, municipalities, cities or other public organisations that finance a corresponding challenge.

· Green coins cannot be directly purchased by users. Green coins cannot be transferred peer to peer.

· After the expiration of a challenge funded by a sponsor, the user has one month to exchange the green coins for rewards. The remaining balance will then be deleted.

· A green coin credit balance does not give rise to any claim on the part of the user. The issuer of the green coins has the option, in consultation with the sponsors, to reset the coin balance to zero at any time during a challenge

6. Data protection

By using the App, the user agrees to the collection of their user data. Detailed data processing within the scope of tracking and the corresponding data protection regulations are set out in the document “Data privacy policy for the use of the Swiss Climate Challenge App”.

Swisscom works with ETH Zurich and EPFL (Lausanne) to evaluate mobility behaviour. All evaluations are used exclusively for the purpose of promoting climate-friendly behaviour. Only completely anonymised and aggregated data (aggregated data of at least 20 persons) is processed, so that tracking of individual persons is excluded at all times. Swisscom ensures that the universities and companies it commissions are committed to the same standard of data protection and data security as Swisscom itself.

If the user exchanges collected green coins for a reward, their email address will be passed on to the corresponding provider of the reward in order to process the transaction.

7. Liability

Use of the App is at your own risk. In particular, Swisscom as the provider of the Swiss Climate Challenge is not liable for interruptions to the services offered, for any loss of data or for consequences arising from transparency or comparison of the climate footprint resulting from the user’s own behaviour, such as a guilty conscience, concern or differences between the user and other people. The goal of the App is to constructively motivate more climate-friendly behaviour.

8. Changes to and suspension of the App

Swisscom may change or suspend the App at any time without prior notice. It may also change these Terms and Conditions of Use at any time. The changes will be displayed in an appropriate manner and the user is free to delete the App immediately and free of charge at any time.

9. Place of jurisdiction, applicable law

All questions and disputes relating to the App are subject exclusively to Swiss law. The exclusive place of jurisdiction is Berne; compulsory places of jurisdiction are reserved.

The App is subject to the export control regulations and other laws of the USA and may not be exported, re-exported or transferred to certain countries (currently Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Crimea and Syria), persons or legal subjects who are prohibited from receiving exported goods from the USA (including (a) those on the Denied Persons List and the Entity List of the Bureau of Industry and Security and (b) those on the Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List of the Office of Foreign Assets Control).

May 2021

Conditions d’utilisation du Swiss Climate Challenge

1. Champ d’application

Les présentes «conditions d’utilisation du Swiss Climate Challenge» (ci-après dénommées «conditions d’utilisation») de Swisscom (Suisse) SA (ci-après dénommée «Swisscom») s’appliquent au service «Swiss Climate Challenge» proposé par Swisscom avec ses partenaires de projet PostFinance SA, Fonds pionnier Migros et SuisseEnergie. En utilisant l’«application» du Swiss Climate Challenge (ci-après l’«application»), le client accepte les conditions d’utilisation. L’application est basée sur une application correspondante de la société MOTIONTAG GmbH, qui collecte les données de mouvement sur la base des données GPS reçues dans le téléphone portable de l’utilisateur.

Le Swiss Climate Challenge est une initiative de Swisscom, du Fonds pionnier Migros et de SuisseEnergie, en collaboration avec PostFinance SA, qui vise à sensibiliser et à encourager la population à adopter un comportement plus respectueux du climat. Cette évolution s’inscrit dans le cadre du défi mondial consistant à réduire de moitié environ les émissions de CO2 d’ici à 2030 et à atteindre la neutralité climatique d’ici à 2050. L’application associée est distribuée de deux manières:

- dans le cadre d’autres applications dites «applications support», c’est-à-dire des applications largement répandues telles que celles du partenaire média Ringier, de Swisscom (Blue News) et de Pro Velo (Cyclomania).
- en tant qu’application autonome dans l’App Store ou sur Google Play.

Le Swiss Climate Challenge sera ensuite mis à la disposition des entreprises, des villes, des événements ou d’autres organisations pour leur permettre d’encourager leurs clients, collaborateurs, résidents ou participants à adopter un comportement respectueux du climat.

2. Prestations du Swiss Climate Challenge

L’application suit automatiquement la mobilité des utilisateurs en fonction du moyen de transport choisi, des distances parcourues et des émissions de CO2 associées. La technologie de suivi de la société MOTIONTAG GmbH est utilisée à cette fin.

Grâce à l’application, l’utilisateur apprend de manière ludique l’impact de son comportement sur le climat, peut se comparer aux autres, s’améliorer et recevoir des récompenses (voir le chapitre 5) en relevant des défis spécifiques. L’application accompagne le Swiss Climate Challenge par la communication et incite à améliorer l’empreinte climatique personnelle. Le calcul des émissions de CO2 et de la consommation d’énergie est basé sur les facteurs de www.mobitool.ch reconnus par l’Office fédéral de l’énergie.

L’application est accessible à tous et n’est pas limitée aux clients de Swisscom.

3. Prestations du client

3.1 Exigences et inscription

Un smartphone ou une tablette est nécessaire pour utiliser l’application. Le téléchargement de l’application autonome ou d’une application support telle que l’application Blick de Ringier, le démarrage de l’application, l’inscription et la connexion sont également requis. Afin de tirer pleinement parti de l’application, l’utilisateur doit activer le suivi de la position et des données de fitness dans les paramètres du smartphone.

L’application est disponible pour les appareils iOS et Android.

Après avoir installé l’application, le participant est invité à s’inscrire pour pouvoir utiliser l’application.

L’inscription crée une relation contractuelle entre le participant et Swisscom, à laquelle s’appliquent les présentes conditions d’utilisation.

L’inscription se fait via la page d’inscription à remplir dans l’application. Pour ce faire, l’utilisateur doit se connecter à l’aide de son propre numéro de téléphone portable.

La procédure d’inscription est la suivante:

– Après avoir ouvert l’application pour la première fois, l’utilisateur sera invité à accepter les présentes conditions d’utilisation du Swiss Climate Challenge et la déclaration générale de protection des données. Après avoir donné son consentement, l’utilisateur est enregistré en tant qu’utilisateur anonyme. Cela lui donne accès à des fonctions essentielles telles que les retours d’information sur les émissions de CO2 et lui permet de participer à des défis publics. Afin de pouvoir utiliser d’autres fonctions, l’utilisateur peut ajouter à son compte les éléments suivants:

– Enregistrement d’un numéro de téléphone portable pour pouvoir utiliser toutes les fonctions du Swiss Climate Challenge, y compris les comparaisons avec ses contacts.

– Enregistrement d’une adresse électronique pour participer aux défis privés des entreprises.

– En s’inscrivant, l’utilisateur consent au traitement de ses données à caractère personnel nécessaires à l’utilisation de l’application dans le cadre du Swiss Climate Challenge et accepte la validité des présentes conditions d’utilisation. Swisscom se réserve le droit de refuser une inscription à tout moment sans avoir à indiquer de motifs ou de mettre fin à la relation de participation ultérieurement et à tout moment.

– En cas d’inscriptions multiples pour une même personne, seul le premier compte créé sera conservé.

3.2 Exigences relatives aux applications support

Si l’utilisateur achète une application support de l’application dédiée au Swiss Climate Challenge dans l’App Store, sur Google Play ou auprès d’un autre fournisseur en ligne en tant qu’application, il confirme par cet achat qu’il accepte également toutes les dispositions légales relatives à l’achat d’une application auprès du fournisseur en question (par exemple App Store, Google Play).

En ce qui concerne l’utilisation de l’application support téléchargée, seule une relation contractuelle est établie entre l’utilisateur et Swisscom. L’utilisateur accorde par la présente le droit à la boutique d’applications (App Store, Google Play) concernée de faire exécuter les dispositions prévues par les présentes conditions d’utilisation, au besoin par voie judiciaire, et ce même s’il n’existe pas de convention à cet égard entre l’utilisateur et le fournisseur en ligne relativement à ladite application.

3.3 Utilisation conforme à la loi et au contrat

L’utilisateur reçoit un droit limité dans le temps, non exclusif et non transférable d’utiliser cette application; il n’a pas le droit d’y apporter des modifications techniques et d’utiliser ultérieurement les résultats correspondants.

En s’inscrivant, l’utilisateur garantit que le téléphone portable enregistré à son nom est utilisé exclusivement par lui et que les mouvements enregistrés correspondent à son comportement naturel de déplacement. La transmission du téléphone portable à des tiers n’est pas autorisée.

L’utilisateur est responsable de toute violation contractuelle et de toute réclamation correspondante faite par des tiers. Si Swisscom ou la boutique d’applications en ligne sont attaqués en justice, l’utilisateur dégage la boutique d’applications en ligne et Swisscom de toute réclamation faite par des tiers.

Lorsqu’il utilise l’application, l’utilisateur doit se conformer aux dispositions des présentes conditions d’utilisation et au droit applicable. Toute utilisation contraire aux présentes dispositions ou à la loi applicable est interdite. Il est notamment contraire aux dispositions du contrat:

a. de fournir des informations incomplètes ou inexactes;

b. de modifier et de falsifier des informations et des données de déplacement par rapport à la vérité;

c. d’ouvrir un compte au nom d’un tiers;

d. de saisir des informations ou des données sur d’autres personnes;

e. de transmettre un compte à un tiers;

f. de modifier, d’altérer, de contourner, de surcharger, d’attaquer, d’introduire des virus ou des logiciels malveillants, ou d’interférer de toute autre manière avec le site Web ou l’application et leurs logiciels et mesures de sécurité sous-jacents sans autorisation;

g. d’utiliser l’application pour espionner d’autres personnes;

h. d’installer et d’utiliser l’application sur un téléphone portable utilisé par une autre personne sans son consentement.

Swisscom a le droit, à sa propre discrétion, de bloquer ou de supprimer temporairement ou définitivement l’accès à des comptes s’il existe des raisons de croire qu’un compte est utilisé de manière non autorisée. Avant qu’un compte ne soit définitivement suspendu ou supprimé, l’utilisateur sera contacté par SMS ou par e-mail et aura une possibilité raisonnable de répondre. Si le compte est définitivement bloqué ou supprimé en raison d’une utilisation non autorisée, l’utilisateur ne pourra pas se réinscrire.

4. Coûts

L’utilisation de l’application Swiss Climate Challenge est gratuite.

L’accès à l’application peut générer des coûts de communication de données. La question de savoir si et dans quelle mesure ces coûts sont encourus dépend de la connexion sous-jacente qui permet la communication de données.

Des frais d’itinérance sont à prévoir en cas d’utilisation du téléphone à l’étranger.

5. Récompenses

Le Swiss Climate Challenge propose des tâches (appelées «défis» dans l’application) afin d’encourager un comportement respectueux du climat. Des «points verts» ou des «pièces vertes» peuvent être gagnés en atteignant certains objectifs en matière d’émissions de CO2 et de comportement de mobilité.

Les points verts indiquent le nombre de tâches qu’un utilisateur a déjà réussies dans le cadre du Swiss Climate Challenge. Ils servent uniquement d’incitation à se comparer aux autres utilisateurs et n’ont aucune valeur matérielle personnelle pour l’utilisateur.

Les pièces vertes peuvent être distribuées aux utilisateurs lorsqu’un sponsor (par exemple une entreprise, une communauté, une ville) sponsorise une somme d’argent pour un groupe de personnes (par exemple les collaborateurs d’une entreprise ou les habitants d’une ville ou d’une commune). Cette somme d’argent peut être répartie entre les membres du groupe de personnes défini lorsque des tâches définies sont accomplies («défis», voir ci-dessus).

Les pièces vertes sont émises par PostFinance SA, elles ont chacune la valeur d’un franc suisse et ne peuvent être dépensées que sur la place de marché du Swiss Climate Challenge (appelée «récompenses» dans l’application) pour des produits, des services ou des dons durables. La contre-valeur des pièces vertes en francs suisses est déposée 1:1 sur un compte auprès de l’émetteur.

Les pièces vertes visent à récompenser de grands groupes de personnes pour leur comportement respectueux du climat. Toutefois, les restrictions suivantes s’appliquent aux pièces vertes:

· Les utilisateurs n’ont pas le droit d’échanger des pièces vertes contre des CHF.

· Swisscom décline toute responsabilité en cas de perte de pièces vertes ou de perte d’accès à l’application, par exemple en raison d’un smartphone qui ne fonctionne plus ou d’un changement de numéro de téléphone.

· Les pièces vertes ne peuvent être gagnées et utilisées que par les collaborateurs des entreprises, des communes, des villes ou d’autres organisations publiques qui financent un défi correspondant.

· L’achat direct de pièces vertes par les utilisateurs n’est pas possible. Aucun transfert de pièces vertes entre utilisateurs (de pair à pair) n’est possible.

· Après le terme d’un défi financé par un sponsor, l’utilisateur dispose d’un mois pour échanger les pièces vertes contre des récompenses. Le crédit restant est ensuite supprimé.

· Un solde créditeur en pièces vertes ne donne lieu à aucune prétention de la part de l’utilisateur. L’émettrice des pièces vertes a la possibilité, en concertation avec les sponsors, de remettre le solde des pièces à zéro à tout moment pendant un défi.

6. Protection des données

En utilisant l’application, l’utilisateur donne son accord à la saisie de ses données d’utilisation. Le détail des opérations de traitement des données dans le cadre du suivi et les dispositions correspondantes en matière de protection des données sont précisés dans le document «Déclaration générale de protection des données pour l’utilisation de l’application Swiss Climate Challenge».

Swisscom collabore avec l’EPF de Zurich et l’EPF de Lausanne pour évaluer les comportements de mobilité. Toutes les évaluations sont uniquement utilisées dans le but de favoriser un comportement respectueux du climat. Seules des données entièrement anonymisées et agrégées (données agrégées d’au moins 20 personnes) sont traitées, de sorte que le suivi de personnes individuelles reste exclu à tout moment. Swisscom garantit que les hautes écoles et les entreprises mandatées s’engagent à respecter la protection des données et la sécurité des données de la même façon que Swisscom.

Si l’utilisateur échange des pièces vertes collectées contre une récompense, son adresse e-mail sera transmise au fournisseur de la récompense pour le traitement de la transaction.

7. Responsabilité

L’utilisation de l’application se fait aux propres risques de l’utilisateur. En tant qu’opérateur du Swiss Climate Challenge, Swisscom n’est pas responsable des interruptions des services proposés, des pertes de données ou des conséquences du propre comportement de l’utilisateur découlant de la transparence ou de la comparaison de l’empreinte climatique, telles que la mauvaise conscience, la consternation ou les divergences avec d’autres personnes. L’objectif de l’application est d’encourager de manière constructive un comportement plus respectueux du climat.

8. Modifications et interruption de l’application

Swisscom peut modifier ou interrompre l’application à tout moment et sans préavis. Elle peut également modifier les présentes conditions d’utilisation à tout moment. Les modifications seront affichées de manière appropriée et l’utilisateur est libre de supprimer l’application immédiatement et gratuitement à tout moment.

9. For et droit applicable

Toutes les questions et tous les litiges en rapport avec l’application sont régis exclusivement par le droit suisse. Le for exclusif est Berne, sous réserve des fors obligatoires.

L’application est soumise aux directives en matière de contrôle de l’exportation ainsi qu’à d’autres lois des Etats-Unis et ne peut être exporté, ré-exporté ou transféré dans certains pays (à ce jour: Cuba, Iran, Corée du Nord, Soudan, Crimée d’Ukraine et Syrie) ou à des personnes ou des sujets de droit interdits de biens d’exportation en provenance des Etats-Unis (y compris ceux figurant sur (a) les listes des personnes et entités refusées [Denied Persons List et Entity List] du Bureau of Industry and Security et sur (b) la liste des Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons de l’Office of Foreign Assets Control).

Mai 2021