FAQ

An FAQ is a list of frequently asked questions and answers on a particular topic.

1. What is the Swiss Climate Challenge?

The Swiss Climate Challenge provides a simple tool that allows you to track, compare and improve your mobility and its associated climate footprint. This is against the backdrop of the global challenge of roughly halving CO2 emissions by 2030 and becoming largely climate neutral by 2050.

2. What is the goal of the Swiss Climate Challenge?

Mobility is responsible for roughly 50% of the personal CO2 emissions of people living in Switzerland (source: BAFU greenhouse gas inventory and BfS microcensus study). This includes air travel and travel abroad, which in turn account for around half of the emissions from mobility. This is where the Swiss Climate Challenge initiative comes in. It aims to create incentives and thereby motivate companies and private individuals to reduce the CO2 emissions caused by their mobility behaviour.

3. Who is behind the Swiss Climate Challenge?

The Swiss Climate Challenge is an initiative of Swisscom, Postfinance, Migros Pioneer Fund and SwissEnergy. The Swiss Climate Challenge is programmed by Swisscom. The Swiss Climate Challenge is also supported by MOTIONTAG, based in Potsdam, Germany. The technology company is a pioneer in the field of mobility tracking. Ringier and Bluewin act as media partners, but companies, cities, communities, schools and events can also become partners of the Swiss Climate Challenge.

4. What can the tool do?

The tool, which can be integrated into apps, tracks the user’s mobility behaviour after active opt-in using location and movement data automatically registered by a mobile phone. This makes it possible to determine how the person is moving.

With the help of the app, the user learns about the impact of their behaviour on the climate in a playful way, and can compare themselves with others, improve and receive rewards for completing defined challenges (see the next section in the FAQ).  The Swiss Climate Challenge accompanies the app with communications and provides incentives for improving your personal climate footprint. The calculation of CO2 emissions and energy consumption is based on the factors recognised by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy at www.mobitool.ch.

The app is available to everyone and is not limited to Swisscom customers.

What rewards are available to Swiss Climate Challenge users?

The Swiss Climate Challenge sets tasks (called “challenges” in the app) as an incentive for climate-friendly behaviour, in which “green points” or “green coins” can be won by achieving certain targets relating to CO2 emissions and mobility behaviour. There are challenges that are activated automatically after a successful opt-in, and other challenges for which you have to register separately in the corresponding area for challenges.

Green points show how many tasks a user has already successfully completed as part of the Swiss Climate Challenge. They serve solely as an incentive to compare oneself with other users and have no personal material value for the user. Green points can be accumulated across all participants in public challenges and be used to make a charitable contribution to a non-profit project, for example an environmental protection project. This contribution is financed by one or more of the initiators of the Swiss Climate Challenge or by additional sponsors.

Green coins can be distributed to users if a sponsor (e.g. a company, a municipality, a city, etc.) sponsors an amount of money for a group of people (e.g. employees of a company or residents of a city or municipality). This sum can be distributed among the members of the defined group by fulfilling defined tasks (“challenges”, see above).

The green coins are issued by PostFinance AG. They are worth one Swiss franc per green coin and can only be spent on the Swiss Climate Challenge marketplace (called “Rewards” on the app) in exchange for sustainable products, services or donations. The equivalent value of the green coins in Swiss francs is deposited 1:1 with the issuer in an account.

Green coins aim to reward large groups of people for environmentally friendly behaviour. For restrictions on the use of green coins, please refer to the terms and conditions of use. GTCs – Swiss Climate Challenge


5. Blockchain and sustainability – how do they go together?

Our green coin has the advantage that it runs on the private permissioned chain (Hyperledger Fabric) operated by Swiss Post and Swisscom. It therefore requires much less energy than a public blockchain and is comparable to other applications we run. In addition, Swiss Post and Swisscom’s data centres are powered by 100% renewable energy.

6. With which apps can the Swiss Climate Challenge be used?

In principle, the Swiss Climate Challenge can be integrated into any app. Integration can be explored with interested companies, cities, municipalities, events or schools in order to motivate their customers, employees, participants, members or pupils to engage with environmentally friendly mobility. Prerequisites include having an app with a high number of users into which the Swiss Climate Challenge can be integrated and the desire to enter into dialogue with app users and make a joint contribution to climate protection.

7. Is the Swiss Climate Challenge also available to other companies, events or organisations?

The Swiss Climate Challenge was launched to motivate as many people as possible to adopt climate-friendly mobility in a fun way. Multiplying its reach through the apps of companies, events, schools, NGOS or other organisations is explicitly desired. The Swiss Climate Challenge tool is provided at a low cost.

8. What kind of data is collected for the Swiss Climate Challenge?

The tool is based on the individual location and movement data collected on the mobile phone. Location data describes the position of the user. When the GPS data is compared with geodata (a process known as geo-matching), this makes it possible to determine the routes travelled. The movement data describes the movement profile (e.g. acceleration patterns) and is needed to determine the type of transport.

9. How is the mobility data collected?

Before the mobility data can be used, the user’s consent (opt-in) and registration are required. Following registration and activation via opt-in, the mobility data is collected from location and movement data. The tool periodically queries the location data on the mobile phone in order to be able to feed it back in an evaluated form.



10. How and where is my data stored and protected?

The following types of data and processing must be distinguished:

Registration data:

Users register can register their email or mobile phone number optionally.  This is used for re-identification of the user when using the app.

Location and movement data:

Only after registration and consent (opt-in) that the user’s location and movement data may be accesed is this mobility data collected and stored in a pseudonymised form for each individual user on the servers of the company MOTIONTAG. The location and movement data forms the basis for drawing conclusions regarding the mobility behaviour in the form of CO2 emissions by MOTIONTAG. Only MOTIONTAG and Swisscom have access to the pseudonymised data.

Climate-relevant data and contact details:

The CO2 emissions, the distances travelled per mode of transport and the impact on the planet’s temperature are calculated from the pseudonymised mobility data by MOTIONTAG and stored in the app on the respective user’s mobile phone. In addition, this climate-relevant data is temporarily stored and evaluated by Swisscom.

The climate-relevant data can be further shared by the user to enable comparison with other participants and thus provide an additional incentive for climate protection. For each contact in the contact list, the mobile phone number and an identification number are uploaded to the Swisscom app cloud and stored in pseudonymised form. This is necessary to enable comparison with other participants. Users can decide for themselves whether or not they want to share their climate-relevant data with other users in their contact list.

Aggregated data for further use:

On the basis of aggregated data (i.e. data records based on at least 20 people) from the Swiss Climate Challenge, Swisscom may have analyses prepared in collaboration with EPFL or ETH Zurich or MOTIONTAG which are used to develop solutions for mobility and more climate-friendly cities. Only aggregated results and no personal data are passed on to third parties (such as Swiss Energy Cities). The data is completely anonymised through aggregation. There is no possibility of tracing the data back to individual persons. This data also cannot be used for advertising purposes.
Other uses are excluded.

11. What is aggregated data?

Aggregated data is data records that are not traceable to a single person. This is done by combining several (in this case at least 20) persons so that only the group value remains recognisable. In contrast to pseudonymised location and movement data, this aggregated data no longer allows conclusions to be drawn about an individual person’s location. In the context of the Swiss Climate Challenge, aggregated data records are only used for solutions that are developed for efficient mobility and climate protection by municipalities and cities in collaboration with selected universities or MOTIONTAG.

12. How can I opt out of the use of my data after I have given my initial consent?

The user can unsubscribe from the Swiss Climate Challenge at any time. From this point on, no further mobility data will be collected in the app. In addition, it is possible to switch detection of the location, movement and fitness data on and off at any time in the settings of the mobile phone.  

If you want all data already collected to be deleted immediately, you can contact info@swissclimatechallenge.ch.


13. For how long will my data be stored? Can I unsubscribe?

The user can unsubscribe from the Swiss Climate Challenge at any time. From this point on, no further mobility data will be collected in the app. The pseudonymised mobility data and the calculated climate-relevant data will be stored on the servers for as long as the Swiss Climate Challenge campaign lasts. If users unsubscribe from the Swiss Climate Challenge, no further data will be collected. If you still want the data to be deleted immediately, you can contact the address Auskunft.Datenschutz@swisscom.com.

14. How are my CO2 emissions and climate impact calculated?

CO2 emissions are calculated based on the distances actually travelled with the respective means of transport. The CO2 emission factors from Mobitool and the Fraunhofer study on the current greenhouse gas emissions balance of electric vehicles in Germany from February 2019 are used for the calculations.

The CO2 mobility footprint is extrapolated based on the recorded mobility behaviour and the corresponding CO2 emissions. The temperature scale shows the average global warming that would result by the end of the century if all people on Earth behaved as the user does with regard to mobility.

The CO2 emissions in the Swiss Climate Challenge encompass not only the direct emissions of the means of transport, but also include grey energy: i.e. the production and disposal of the vehicle, generation of the energy required to operate the vehicle, the construction of roads and tracks and vehicle maintenance are included. 

15. Why does the thermometer show 1.5°C even when I’m not causing any CO2?

With the Paris Agreement, 197 countries have agreed to aim for an average global warming of significantly less than 2°C, and ideally only 1.5°C. Greater warming would lead to dramatic extreme weather events and impacts on society and the economy.

The 1.5°C increase will be reached with the emissions already caused. This means that there can be no additional CO2 emissions if the 1.5°C limit is to be met. This is why the starting point on the thermometer is 1.5°C. We show 1.75°C as the target temperature, which is still well below 2°C and allows for some CO2 emissions from mobility.

16. How precise are the classifications of my mobility in the app?

Mobility classification is around 96% accurate for iOS devices and around 94% accurate for Android devices.

However, the app is much more accurate in urban areas than in rural areas. This is because in rural areas there is a less dense network of antennas. The denser networks in urban areas are used to determine the approximate location as a basis for a faster and more precise determination of the location via GPS. Furthermore, mobile phones are sometimes unable to receive the data from the satellites if the connection to the satellite is interrupted, for example by a mountain.

It is possible to manually correct information if the means of transport is not represented correctly. Tracking errors can occur despite continuous improvement and can be adjusted manually in the app. This enables the system to keep learning and improving.

Tracking may be interrupted on certain Android devices as the device wants to preserve battery power. The Swiss Climate Challenge is highly optimised in terms of energy consumption, so there is actually no reason to do so.

For the app to work properly and record journeys in the background, battery power optimisation for the app must be disabled in your smartphone’s settings. On some smartphone models, especially those made by Huawei, Samsung, OnePlus and Xiaomi, there are app-specific battery-saving modes customised by the manufacturers. These are automatically activated as soon as the device has not been used for a certain period of time. As a result, the device’s operating system doesn’t allow apps to run in the background and shuts them off when in sleep mode to extend battery life. To enable full functionality of the app, change the device’s settings. The following overview gives you tips on what this process might look like on your smartphone model. (For a complete overview of device settings that discourage background app activity and how to change these settings, you can also visit dontkillmyapp.com).

HTC

Phone settings > Battery > Power-saving mode > Battery optimisation > Select MOTIONTAG app > Do not optimise > Save.

Huawei

Switch the power settings to “Normal” and add the app to “Protected apps" (Settings > Advanced settings > Battery manager > Protected apps > MOTIONTAG app ON).

LG

if using Android 6 or later: Settings > Battery & power saving > Battery usage > Ignore optimisations > Turn on for MOTIONTAG app.

Motorola

if using Android 6 or later: Battery > Three-dot menu in the top right corner > Battery optimisation > Not optimised > All apps > Select MOTIONTAG app > Do not optimise.

OnePlus

Via the OxygenOS settings: Battery > Battery optimisation > Switch to “All apps” > Select MOTIONTAG app > Do not optimise.

Samsung

Settings > Apps > MOTIONTAG > Battery > Optimise battery usage > Find MOTIONTAG app > Disable toggle.

Sony

if using Android 6 or later: Battery > Three-dot menu in the top right corner> Battery optimiser > Apps > MOTIONTAG app > Off.

Xiaomi MIUI OS: if using Android 6 or later: Phone settings > Additional settings > Battery & power > Manage battery life > Apps > MOTIONTAG app OR Settings > Battery & power > App power-saving mode > Select apps > MOTIONTAG app > No limits.

Location settings

Make sure your location settings are set to “high accuracy”. Settings > Additional settings > Privacy > Location > Set to high accuracy OR Settings > Connections > Location > Set to high accuracy.

A-GPS reset

Perform an A-GPS reset: install the “GPS Status & Toolbox” app, then go to Menu > Tools > Manage A-GPS status > Reset.

17. How does the tool know whether I am travelling on foot or by bike, train, plane, bus or car?

MOTIONTAG aims to carry out intelligent location analyses and to continuously improve. Using the location data, the means of transport can be determined by looking at the time in which the route was travelled. The empirical values show, for example, that at a speed of 100km/h, the users were travelling by car or train. The movement and fitness data also play a role, as these aid in the interpretation of the movement patterns. Buses and cars can be distinguished because buses keep stopping at bus stops, while cars generally travel at a constant rate. The public transport network is also recorded. If the vehicle moves away from the public transport route, this can help to distinguish a car from a train.

18. How much does tracking drain the battery?

Tracking is energy-optimised and causes only a light load on the battery of the mobile phone. The app uses a bit more battery power if you move a lot or often call up the evaluation function.

Tracking may be interrupted on certain Android devices as the device wants to preserve battery power. The Swiss Climate Challenge is highly optimised in terms of energy consumption, so there is actually no reason to do so.  Instructions on how to deactivate this protective feature on Android devices for the Swiss Climate Challenge can be found above under the question “How precise are the classifications of my mobility in the app?”.

19. What should I do if the app stalls?

It is normal for the tracking to show the trip with a slight time delay. So it may take a few hours for the data to be updated.

However, if the app is not working, these steps can be tried:

·       Close and then reopen the app

·       Close the app in the background and then reopen it  

·       Unsubscribe from the Swiss Climate Challenge and register again  

·       Switch the location and movement data off and then on again

·       Restart the mobile phone

·       Reinstall the app

·       Get in touch with: info@swissclimatechallenge.ch

Contact:  info@swissclimatechallenge.ch

Take me back

FAQ

An FAQ is a list of frequently asked questions and answers on a particular topic.

1. Qu'est-ce que le Swiss Climate Challenge?

Le Swiss Climate Challenge met à disposition un outil simple qui permet de tracer, de comparer et d’améliorer son comportement de mobilité ainsi que l’empreinte carbone afférente.

 

Le Swiss Climate Challenge est une initiative de SuisseEnergie, Engagement Migros, South Pole (avec expertise dans le domaine de la protection du climat) et Swisscom. Le Swiss Climate Challenge est programmé par la filiale de Swisscom NGTI qui est chargée en outre de l’analyse des résultats. Le Swiss Climate Challenge est par ailleurs soutenu par le partenaire de suivi Motion Tag dont le siège est à Potsdam en Allemagne. Ringier et Bluewin sont les partenaires médias. 



2. Quel est l’objectif du Swiss Climate Challenge?

La mobilité est (source: (inventaires des gaz à effet de serre OFEV et étude microrecensement de l’OFS) responsable de près de 50% des émissions individuelles de CO2 engendrées par les personnes vivant en Suisse. Elle prend en compte le trafic aérien et les déplacements à l’étranger, qui constituent à leur tour une bonne moitié des émissions dues à la mobilité. Le Swiss Climate Challenge est une initiative qui s’appuie sur ces faits. Il tend, par la motivation, à inciter entreprises et particuliers à réduire leurs émissions de CO2 associées à la mobilité.

3. De quoi le Swiss Climate Challenge est-il fait?

Le Swiss Climate Challenge est une initiative de Swisscom, Engagement Migros et Southpole, avec le soutien d'Energie Suisse.C’est la filiale de Swisscom NGTI qui se charge de la programmation du Swiss Climate Challenge. Le Swiss Climate Challenge bénéfice du soutien de MOTIONTAG, société basée à Potsdam en Allemagne. Cette entreprise technologique est pionnière dans le domaine du traçage de la mobilité. Ringier et Bluewin constituent des partenaires médias privilégiés, mais des sociétés, des écoles, conventions ou OGN peuvent également faire office de partenaires du Swiss Climate Challenge.

4. Quelle est la plus-value de ce tool?

Une fois l’opt-in donné par l’utilisateur, l’outil, qui peut être installé sous forme d’app, trace le comportement de mobilité de l’utilisateur sur la base des données de localisation et de déplacement qu’un téléphone mobile enregistre automatiquement. Cela permet de déterminer comment la personne se déplace.

5. Avec quelles apps est-il possible d’utiliser le Swiss Climate Challenge?

Le Swiss Climate Challenge peut être intégré à n’importe quelle app. Il est mis à la disposition de toutes les entreprises, conventions, organisations ou écoles qui en manifestent l’intérêt et qui souhaitent motiver respectivement leurs clients, collaborateurs, membres ou élèves à adopter une mobilité respectueuse du climat. Il est toutefois nécessaire de disposer d’une application à laquelle de nombreux utilisateurs ont recours et dans laquelle le Swiss Climate Challenge peut être intégré, et aussi d’avoir l’intention de dialoguer avec ses utilisatrices et utilisateurs afin de mener de concert une action au profit de la protection du climat.

6. Le Swiss Climate Challenge est-il également disponible pour d’autres entreprises, conventions ou organisations?

Le Swiss Climate Challenge a été lancé pour motiver un nombre de personnes le plus large possible à adopter très facilement une mobilité climatophile. La multiplication d’une large diffusion par les entreprises, conventions, écoles, OGN et autres organisations grâce aux applications est explicitement souhaitée. L’app «embarquée» du Swiss Climate Challenge est proposée à un prix économique.

7. Quels types de données sont collectés pour le Swiss Climate Challenge?

L’outil s’appuie essentiellement sur les données de localisation et de déplacement individuelles collectées sur le téléphone mobile. Les données de localisation décrivent la position de l’utilisateur et sont nécessaires pour comparer les données GPS avec les données géographiques (ce qu’on appelle le «geomatching») afin de déterminer au final les trajets parcourus. Les données de déplacement décrivent le profil de déplacement (par exemple modèle d’accélération) et sont nécessaires pour déterminer le type de moyen de transport.



8. Comment et où mes données sont-elles stockées et protégées?

Il convient de distinguer les données et traitements suivants: 

·   Données d’enregistrement: Les utilisateurs s’enregistrent avec leur numéro de téléphone portable. Ce dernier est utilisé pour garantir la ré-identification de l’utilisateur lors de l’utilisation de l’app.

·   Données de localisation et de déplacement: Ces données de mobilité sont saisies une fois que l’utilisateur est enregistré et a donné son accord (Opt-In) pour l’accès à ses données de localisation et de déplacement. Elles sont enregistrées pour chaque utilisateur sous un pseudonyme sur les serveurs de la société MotionTag. Les données de localisation et de déplacement constituent la base pour que MotionTag puisse convertir les déclarations sur le comportement de mobilité sous forme d’émissions de CO2. Seules la société MotionTag et Swisscom ont accès aux données pseudonymisées.  


·   Données relatives au climat et données de contact: Les émissions de CO2, les distances parcourues par moyen de transport et l’influence sur la température de la planète sont calculées à partir des données de mobilité pseudonymisées calculées par Motion Tag et enregistrées dans l’app sur le téléphone mobile de l’utilisateur concerné. Ces données relatives au climat sont en outre enregistrées temporairement et analysées par NGTI.

 

Les données relatives au climat peuvent également être publiées par l’utilisateur pour qu’il puisse les comparer avec d’autres participants et donner ainsi une incitation supplémentaire pour la protection du climat. Pour chaque contact dans la liste de contacts, les numéros de téléphone portable et un numéro d’identification sont chargés dans l’App Cloud de Swisscom et enregistrés de manière pseudonymisée. Ceci est nécessaire pour permettre la comparaison avec d’autres participants. L’utilisateur peut décider lui-même s’il souhaite partager ses données relatives au climat avec d’autres utilisateurs dans sa liste de contacts.

 

·   Données agrégées pour d’autres utilisations: Sur la base de données agrégées (c’est-à-dire des ensembles de données basés sur au moins 20 personnes) du Swiss Climate Challenge, Swisscom, en collaboration avec l’EPFL ou l’ETH Zurich ou Motion Tag, est autorisée à élaborer des analyses afin de développer des solutions pour la mobilité et les villes respectueuses du climat. Ce faisant, seuls les résultats qui en ressortent sont transmis à des tiers tels que les Cités de l’énergie de Suisse, en aucun cas des données personnelles ne sont transmises. Les données sont rendues entièrement anonymes par cette agrégation. Il n’est aucunement possible de tracer les personnes. Il est également interdit d’utiliser ces données à des fins publicitaires. 

Toute autre utilisation est exclue. 


10. Qui a accès aux données pseudonymisées?

Que sont des données agrégées?

Les données agrégées sont des enregistrements de données qui ne sont pas traçables de sorte à remonter à une seule personne. Cette méthode est mise en œuvre en fusionnant plusieurs (dans le cas présent au moins 20) personnes, de sorte que seule la valeur du groupe reste reconnaissable. Contrairement aux données de localisation et de déplacement pseudonymisées, ces données agrégées ne permettent plus de tirer des conclusions sur la localisation d’une personne. Dans le cadre du Swiss Climate Challenge, les enregistrements de données agrégés ne sont utilisés que pour des solutions développées par des universités sélectionnées ou Motion Tag, dans le cadre du développement d’une mobilité efficace et de la protection du climat des communes et des villes.

11. Comment puis-je bloquer l’utilisation de mes données malgré un consentement initial?

L’utilisateur peut se désinscrire à tout moment du Swiss Climate Challenge. Dès lors, plus aucunes données de mobilité ne seront collectées dans l’app. Les utilisateurs conservent en outre la possibilité d’activer ou de désactiver à tout moment les fonctions de géolocalisation et de données de déplacement et d’activités physiques dans les paramètres de leur téléphone mobile.  
Si toutefois des données déjà collectées doivent être supprimées immédiatement, il est possible de s’adresser à info@swissclimatechallenge.ch.

12. Pour combien de temps mes données sont-elles enregistrées?

L’utilisateur peut se désinscrire à tout moment du Swiss Climate Challenge. Dès lors, plus aucune donnée de mobilité ne sera collectée dans l’app. Les données pseudonymisées de mobilité et les données calculées relatives au climat sont enregistrées sur les serveurs tant que l’opération du Swiss Climate Challenge perdure. Dès qu’un utilisateur se désinscrit du Swiss Climate Challenge, plus aucune donnée n’est collectée. Si les données doivent tout de même être supprimées immédiatement, il est possible de s’adresser à Auskunft.Datenschutz@swisscom.com.


13. Comment mes émissions de CO2 et leurs effets sur le climat sont-elles calculées?

Les émissions de CO2 sont calculées sur la base des trajets effectivement parcourues par chaque moyen de transport. On recourt pour ce faire aux facteurs d’émissions de CO2 de Mobitool et à l’étude sur le «Bilan des gaz à effet de serre de l’e-mobilité» de l’institut Fraunhofer de février 2019.

L’empreinte carbone est estimée à partir du comportement de mobilité saisi et des émissions de CO2 de mobilité correspondantes. L’échelle de température montre la moyenne du réchauffement climatique global potentiel d’ici la fin du siècle dans le cas où le comportement de mobilité de toutes les personnes sur Terre était similaire à celui de l’utilisateur.  

Les émissions de CO2 retenues dans le Swiss Climate Challenge ne se composent pas seulement des émissions directes générées par les moyens de transport, mais elles tiennent également compte de l’énergie grise: autrement dit, elles incorporent aussi la fabrication et l’élimination du véhicule, la production de l’énergie nécessaire au fonctionnement du véhicule, l’aménagement des routes et des voies, et l’entretien du véhicule. 

14. Pour quelle raison le thermomètre indique-t-il 1,5°C même si je ne génère pas de CO2?

Lors des accords de Paris, tous les pays ont convenu de viser une moyenne de réchauffement climatique largement inférieure à 2°, et de préférence limitée à 1,5°C. Un réchauffement plus important entraînerait des évènements climatiques et des répercussions extrêmes pour la société et l’économie.

Le niveau de 1,5°C est d’ores et déjà atteint du fait des émissions actuellement produites. Autrement dit, il faut renoncer à tout supplément d’émissions de CO2 si l’on veut maintenir le seuil de 1,5°C. C’est la raison pour laquelle le point de départ sur le thermomètre est fixé à 1,5°C. La température visée s’élève à 1,75 degré, ce qui est encore en deçà des 2 degrés et autorise un certain niveau d’émissions de CO2 dans le domaine de la mobilité.

15. Quelle est la précision des classifications de ma mobilité sur l’app?

À ce jour, la précision de la classification de la mobilité est de plus de 90%.  

L’app est cependant plus précise dans les zones urbains qu’à la campagne. Cela s’explique par une plus faible densité d’antennes dans les territoires ruraux, équipements qui sont utilisés en zone urbaine pour établir une localisation approximative, ensuite affinée via GPS. De plus, les téléphones mobiles ne peuvent recevoir les données des satellites dès lors que la réception depuis le satellite est interrompue par exemple par une montagne.

Il est possible de corriger manuellement les informations si un moyen de transport ne s’affiche pas correctement. Des erreurs dans le traçage peuvent se produire en dépit des améliorations constantes, mais peuvent être corrigées manuellement sur l’app. Le système ne cesse ainsi d’évoluer et de s’améliorer.

16. Comment l’application sait-elle si je me déplace à pieds, à vélo, en train, en avion, en bus ou en voiture?

La société Motion Tag cherche à réaliser des analyses intelligentes de localisation et à s’améliorer en continu. Les données de localisation permettent de définir le parcours effectué pendant le temps associé. Les valeurs empiriques démontrent par exemple qu’à la vitesse de 100 km/h, les utilisateurs se sont déplacés en voiture ou en train. Par ailleurs, les données de déplacement et d’activités physiques sont prises en compte dans la mesure où elles servent d’interprétation à des motifs de mobilité. On distinguera entre le bus et la voiture dans la mesure où le bus suspend son trajet aux arrêts alors qu’une voiture circule généralement de manière continue. De plus, le réseau de trafic considéré est celui des transports publics. Ainsi, dès lors qu’une voiture s’éloigne de l’itinéraire des transports publics, le choix s’orientera vers la voiture.

17. Quelle est l’intensité de sollicitation de la batterie lors du traçage?

Le traçage est optimisé en énergie, de sorte que la batterie du téléphone portable n’est que peu sollicitée. Il peut arriver que l’app absorbe par moment un peu plus d’énergie à la batterie, en cas de déplacements nombreux et de consultation fréquente des résultats.

18. Que faire quand l’app est lente?

Il est normal que le traçage affiche le trajet de manière légèrement différée. Il se peut donc que cela prenne quelques heures jusqu’à ce que les données soient mises à jour.

Dans le cas toutefois où l’app ne fonctionnerait pas, il convient de procéder comme suit:

  • Fermer l’app et la redémarrer
  • Fermer l’app également en arrière-plan et la redémarrer  
  • Se déconnecter du Swiss Climate Challenge et se reconnecter
  • Désactiver puis réactiver les données de localisation et de déplacement
  • Redémarrer le téléphone mobile
  • Réinstaller l’app
  • Signaler à: info@swissclimatechallenge.ch

Contact: info@swissclimatechallenge.ch

9. Comment mes données sont-elles collectées? Comment puis-je me désinscrire?

Avant toute utilisation de ces données de mobilité, il est obligatoire que l’utilisateur donne son consentement (Opt-In) et s’enregistre. Une fois l’utilisateur enregistré et l’opt-in activé, les données sur la mobilité sont collectées sur la base des données de localisation et de déplacement. L’outil interroge périodiquement les données de localisation sur le téléphone mobile afin de les rétroalimenter quand elles sont exploitées. 


Take me back